Updating BasePress

When a BasePress knowledge base wiki update is available you’ll be notified in the WordPress plugins page. You can automatically renew BasePress by clicking “update now” in the update notice.
You can find more details on how to update WordPress plugins in this article.

If you need to do the update manually please follow the instructions below:
First make sure, the option ‘Remove all content on uninstall’ is not ticked in the BasePress Settings > General tab.
If the option has a tick remove it and save. This option should only be used if you are planning to remove BasePress permanently as all content in your knowledge base will be deleted with the plugin.

The screenshot below clearly shows that you shouldn’t tick the  ‘Remove all content on uninstall’ button.

Update BasePress

Leave unchecked “Remove all content on uninstall”

You can now proceed with updating. Navigate to Plugins>Installed Plugins in the WP admin panel and deactivate BasePress. After deactivation, click on ‘Delete’. This will remove the old version from the website

Proceed to the installation of the new BasePress version as usual. You can follow the steps described in the installation article. When you update your BasePress knowledge base wiki, all your settings will remain unchanged.

Was this helpful?